Young Fresh Fellows Release Their 13th Album in Their 31st Year


Band: Young Fresh Fellows

Release: Tiempo de Lujo

Label: Yep Roc

Release date: Out now

Reportedly recorded in just 12 hours - that's an hour per song - the latest from this Seattle institution (31 years and counting), featuring Scott McCaughey of The Minus 5 and Kurt Bloch of The Fastbacks, is their thirteenth release. The almost-legendary band never found widespread success but have cultivated a devoted following over the decades for their quirky, poppy, garage rock, which is exactly what you'll get on Tiempo, their first long-player since 2009's I Think This Is. The Fellows have always taken to having fun over taking themselves seriously, which is probably why they've outlasted almost every other band in this town and every other, but the songs here seem just a little too polished and a little too clever to have been tossed off in an hour apiece. Fans learned long ago, however, that it's better to believe in the band's magic than their hyperbole. The Fellows will play a pair of shows at the Sunset Tavern on September 21 and 22 and you can see the video for "A Fake Hello" after the jump, in which televisions are moved, popsicles are consumed and shirts are ripped.

comments powered by Disqus