fleetfoxeshelplessness_blues.jpg
Sub Pop announced his morning that Seattle's Fleet Foxes, the indie-folk act that was the surprise hit of 2008/2009, will release the follow-up to 2008's

"/>

Fleet Foxes to Play the Moore and Release Helplessness Blues on May 3, the Biggest Release Date in Sub Pop History

fleetfoxeshelplessness_blues.jpg
Sub Pop announced his morning that Seattle's Fleet Foxes, the indie-folk act that was the surprise hit of 2008/2009, will release the follow-up to 2008's self-titled LP with Helplessness Blues on May 3. They'll play the Moore that night (pre-sale tomorrow at 9 a.m.).

The album is the most anticipated release for Seattle's Sub Pop since the Shins released Wincing the Night Away in 2007, for which the label hired a battery of outside promotion and marketing help to give the record a major-label level push, which resulted in a debut at #2 on the Billboard album charts, selling 118,000 records in its first week. Depending on the competition, it's very possible that Helplessness Blues could mark Sub Pop's debut atop the charts--a distinction that has lost some of its heft as album sales have dwindled, but that still remains an important resume item for bands and labels.

Helplessness Blues' title track--available for free download after the jump--reveals a more crystaline Fleet Foxes sound than we've previously heard from the band. The band has retained their signature harmonies, led by frontman Robin Pecknold's reverb-soaked vocals. But they're cleaner and more refined, a sound Pecknold teased to with his cover of "Be Yourself," on the Graham Nash tribute album of the same name.

Fleet Foxes - Helplessness Blues by subpop

Seattle shouldn't feel too bad that the band's playing Portland first.

04/30/11 Sat - Vancouver BC @ The Vogue Theatre

05/01/11 Sun - Portland OR @ Crystal Ballroom

05/03/11 Tue - Seattle WA @ Moore Theatre

05/05/11 Thu - Oakland CA @ Fox Theater

05/06/11 Fri - San Diego CA @ Spreckels Theatre

05/07/11 Sat - Hollywood CA @ Hollywood Palladium

05/08/11 Sun - Tucson AZ @ Rialto Theatre

05/10/11 Tue - Austin TX @ Stubbs Waller Creek Amphitheater

05/11/11 Wed - Dallas TX @ Palladium Ballroom

05/13/11 Fri - Nashville TN @ Ryman Auditorium

05/14/11 Sat - Atlanta GA @ The Tabernacle

05/15/11 Sun - Washington DC @ DAR Constitution Hall

05/17/11 Tue - Boston MA @ Orpheum Theatre

05/18/11 Wed - New York NY @ The United Palace Theatre

05/21/11 Sat- Upper Darby PA @ Tower Theatre

 
comments powered by Disqus

Friends to Follow