Peter Gabriel and Indie Rock: Two Great Things that Could be Better Together

gabriel album.jpg
Peter Gabriel is releasing an all-orchestral indie-rock covers LP titled Scratch My Back.
Two tracks from Peter Gabriel's upcoming album -- his first in seven years -- are now available for free streaming or download. The good news is that you don't need to be a Lloyd Dobler-esque fan to enjoy these songs; on Scratch My Back, the former Genesis flautist covers some of the best indie rock from the past 20 years, from David Bowie to Radiohead.

The tracklist for this album is, in a word, fantastic, and Gabriel couldn't have chosen two better songs as a preview: "Flume" by Bon Iver and "My Body Is A Cage" by Arcade Fire. ("Flume" is available for download at Gabriel's Web site; you can listen to "My Body Is A Cage" over at Stereogum.) Gabriel re-imagines and intensifies the songs, making Arcade Fire even more symphonic and Bon Iver sound more tragic.

The album will be released on Feb. 15. Full tracklist after the jump.


01 "Heroes" (David Bowie)

02 "The Boy in the Bubble" (Paul Simon)

03 "Mirrorball" (Elbow)

04 "Flume" (Bon Iver)

05 "Listening Wind" (Talking Heads)

06 "The Power of the Heart" (Lou Reed)

07 "My Body Is a Cage" (Arcade Fire)

08 "The Book of Love" (The Magnetic Fields)

09 "I Think It's Going to Rain Today" (Randy Newman)

10 "Apr├Ęs moi" (Regina Spektor)

11 "Philadelphia" (Neil Young)

12 "Street Spirit (Fade Out)" (Radiohead)

comments powered by Disqus