Fresh Wax -- The Jesus Lizard, No Age, and Plenty of Others Release New Vinyl This Week

Fresh Wax Jesus Lizard.jpg
Alrighty. It's that time of the week again where music addicts start checking out the new releases. While some folks would prefer MP3s, others are still addicted to snagging all of the reissues and new albums that only come out on vinyl. That's why it's cool that so many record labels are starting to offer both in one package. This week there are some key releases fitting that description but the regular LPs that come today (sans download code or MP3) look solid as well.

Below, vinyl columnist Jason Ferguson gives folks the scoop on all of the fresh wax that's available as of today.


There are some great new releases out on vinyl this week. And holy cow, there are a lot of great new releases on vinyl this week. But despite the quantity and quality of the new stuff, I've gotta admit I'm pretty excited about one item on the reissue slate: the Jesus Lizard catalog. Remastered by Steve Albini and Bob Weston (who, really, probably just took a check so the reissues could say "remastered by Steve Albini and Bob Weston" because these albums sounded pretty goddamned perfect in the first place) and packed up in deluxe gatefold sleeves with copious new liner notes... ahhhh, it's just really nice to have Jesus Lizard records available on vinyl again.

On the new release tip, though, there's a great new No Age EP out this week and it's only available as a download or on vinyl... that's right no CD from the fine folks at Sub Pop on this one.

New Releases:

A Place to Bury Strangers: Exploding Head

Lou Barlow: Goodnight Unknown

The Big Pink: A History of Love

Black Dahlia Murder: Deflorate

Blitzen Trapper: Black River Killer

Built to Spill: There is No Enemy (2LP + CD)

The Clientele: Bonfires on the Heath

Mike Doughty: Sad Man Happy Man

The Dutchess & the Duke: Sunset/Sunrise

Lucero: 1372 Overton Park (w/download)

The Mountain Goats: Life of the World to Come

Meshell Ndgeocello: Devil's Halo

No Age: Losing Feeling (Sub Pop, vinyl/digital-only release)

Raveonettes: In & Out of Control

Shudder to Think: Live From Home

Langhorne Slim: Be Set Free

Sufjan Stevens & Osso: Run Rabbit Run (2LP)

Strike Anywhere: Iron Front

Three Mile Pilot: Planets/Grey Clouds EP



The Jesus Lizard: Pure, Head, Liar, Goat, Down (remastered, with bonus tracks, download codes)

Willie Nelson: Shotgun Willie (Rhino, 180g)

New Order: Technique, Power Corruption & Lies, Low-Life, Brotherhood (Rhino 180g)

--Jason Ferguson

comments powered by Disqus

Friends to Follow