Nat King Cole's Re:Generation

After hearing Cee-Lo's superb rendition of Nat King Cole's "Lush Life" on KEXP yesterday, I did some digging around to find out more about the upcoming Re:Generations album, a re-imagining of Cole classics by contemporary artists/producers. It's slated to hit stores March 10, according to a press release I found on this nifty site.

The project reminds me of one of my favorite albums from college, Bob Marley's Chant Down Babylon. And there's at least two artists who worked on the Marley disc working on Re:Generations--The Roots and Damian Marley. Coincidence? I don't know, but I'm stoked. Tentative track list after the jump.

1. Lush Life, Cee-Lo

2. Straighten Up and Fly Right, & Natalie Cole

3. Day In Day Out, Cut Chemist

4. Brazilian Love Song, Michaelangelo L'Acqua & Bebel Gilberto

5. The Game of Love, Nas & Salaam Remi

6. Walkin' My Baby Back Home, The Roots

7. Hit That Jive, Jack, Souldiggaz & Izza Kizza

8. Calypso Blues, Stephen & Damian Marley

9. More and More of Your Amour, Bitter:Sweet

10. El Choclo, Brazilian Girls

11. Pick-up, Just Blaze

12. Anytime Anyday Anywhere, Amp Fiddler

13. Nature Boy, TV On The Radio

comments powered by Disqus