Damn, I thought the pairing of Roky Erickson and the Black Angels was inspired , but the announcement this morning that the Truckers and Craig

"/>

The Drive-By Truckers and Hold Steady Team Up

Damn, I thought the pairing of Roky Erickson and the Black Angels was inspired, but the announcement this morning that the Truckers and Craig Finn's traveling circus are joining forces for a fall tour is ridiculously good news.

Apparently Hold Steady frontman Finn credits witnessing the Truckers' Southern Rock Opera tour back in 2002 for inspiring him to start making music again after Lifter Puller broke up.

craigfinn.jpg

Hold Steady's Craig Finn

The mutual admiration runs deep: sayeth Trucker co-leader Patterson Hood, "We're all really excited to tour with The Hold Steady. They're one of the greatest bands out there now and their new album is amazing. Craig writes songs I wish I'd written."

hood.jpg

Drive-By Truckers' Patterson Hood

They are calling the tour "the Rock and Roll Means well" tour, lifted from a Drive-By Trucker lyric in the song "Marry Me." The line is reportedly one of Craig Finn's favorite lyrics (which he often quotes): "rock and roll means well but can't help telling young boys lies." Word. They are giving us two dates here in Seattle (more ticket info can be found over here):

Thu 30-Oct Louisville, KY Coyotes @ City Block

Fri 31-Oct Nashville, TN Ryman Auditorium

Sat 1-Nov Atlanta, GA Tabernacle

Sun 2-Nov Tallahassee, FL The Moon @ FSU

Mon 3-Nov Raleigh, NC Lincoln Theater

Wed 5-Nov State College, PA The State Theatre

Thu 6-Nov New York, NY Terminal 5

Fri 7-Nov New York, NY Terminal 5

Sat 8-Nov Philadelphia, PA Electric Factory

Sun 9-Nov Boston, MA Orpheum Theater

Tue 11-Nov Toronto, ON Phoenix Theater

Wed 12-Nov Pittsburgh, PA Carnegie Music Hall

Thu 13-Nov Bloomington, IN Bluebird

Fri 14-Nov Chicago, IL Riviera Theater

Sat 15-Nov Minneapolis, MN First Avenue

Sun 16-Nov Minneapolis, MN First Avenue

Wed 19-Nov Boise, ID Big Easy

Thu 20-Nov Seattle, WA Showbox

Fri 21-Nov Seattle, WA Showbox

Sat 22-Nov Portland, OR Crystal Ballroom

Sun 23-Nov San Francisco, CA The Fillmore

Mon 24-Nov San Francisco, CA The Fillmore

Tue 25-Nov Los Angeles, CA Wiltern

 
comments powered by Disqus

Friends to Follow