Conor Oberst Goes Solo...Again

New album on the way...


Best known for working under the Bright Eyes moniker for the past decade-plus, Conor Oberst will release a self-titled solo album on Merge Records on August 5th. It's his fourth solo effort, but first since 1995's Soundtrack to My Movie.

According to Merge: This recording was made in Tepoztlán, Morelos, México during the months of January and February 2008. In Tepoztlán, a place known for Aztec Magic and Extra-Terrestrial Sightings, a temporary studio was created in a mountain villa called Valle Místico at the outskirts of town. It was produced by Conor Oberst with much help from engineer and long time associate Andy LeMaster. A special band was assembled for the recording, known amongst themselves and to friends as the Mystic Valley Band. It was there at Valle Místico that Conor and the band lived and worked for that time in near perfect harmony, often unaware of the hour or the day.

Track list in full:

1. Cape Cañaveral

2. Sausalito

3. Get-Well-Cards

4. Lenders In The Temple

5. Danny Callahan

6. I Don’t Want To Die (In The Hospital)

7. Eagle On A Pole

8. Moab

9. NYC – Gone, Gone

10. Valle Místico (Ruben's Song)

11. Souled Out!!!

12. Milk Thistle

(FYI: The Mystic Valley Band is said to comprise Oberst, singer-songwriter Nik Freitas, and Rilo Kiley drummer Jason Boesel.)

comments powered by Disqus