Jarv Dee goes it alone on stage this week. Photo by Aubrey Rhodes

The Top 20 Things to Do This Week

Avant-garde solo snare drum, dance at the Sculpture Park, glittery rainbow boob art and more.

August 10

Wednesday

Train to Bombay In her native India, Jaina Sanga has published a novel and a book of short stories. Though Sanga writes in English, has lived in the U.S. since 1980, and currently resides in Dallas, her books have never been published here. Elliott Bay has imported her books, and is throwing one of her only U.S. events here tonight, making this a unique moment in international literature. Elliott Bay Book Company, 1521 10th Ave., 624-6600, elliottbaybook.com. Free. All ages. 7 p.m. PAUL CONSTANT

Julien Baker With the release last year of Sprained Ankle, Baker quickly captured an audience that swayed gently to her delicate, melancholy guitar ballads, filled with conflicted Christian themes and delivered with a penetrating and vulnerable warble. She is yet another gift from that font of musical greatness in Memphis, but Baker does have an ear for the Northwest, proven by recent covers of Elliott Smith and Death Cab for Cutie. With Generifus. Vera Project, 305 Harrison St., 956-8372. $12–$15. All ages. 7:30 p.m. MARK BAUMGARTEN

An Evening With Groucho Madcap and flamboyant, Frank Ferrante stars in roughly every other Teatro ZinZanni show as chef Caesar (including the current one, “Hotel L’Amour,” through Sept. 25). But when he’s not busy there, he’s the planet’s foremost impersonator of Groucho Marx (under 30? Google him), including more than 2,500 performances of his one-man revue, to universal acclaim. Now Ferrante is combining the two, with a special one-night-only performance as Marx in ZinZanni’s opulent Spiegeltent. Teatro ZinZanni, 222 Mercer St., zinzanni.com. $30 and up. All ages. 8 p.m. GAVIN BORCHERT

Karma Kid & Point Point Hailing from Matlock in central England, Karma Kid is a 21-year-old electronic DJ on the come-up whose soul and hip-hop influence fuse nicely with his deep-house production, giving him a refreshingly authentic feel that separates him from most other EDM DJs. Performing with him is Point Point, a slightly lesser known Parisian DJ whose recent breakout track, “All This,” has reached nearly two million SoundCloud plays. Q Nightclub, 1426 Broadway, 432-9306. $11. 21 and over. 9 p.m. ANDREW CALLAGHAN

August 11

Thursday

Ghostly Echoes Now that you’ve gotten Harry Potter out of your system for a while, what are you going to read? William Ritter’s Jackaby series is about a young woman who becomes the assistant of a paranormal investigator. The third book in the series is about a ghost who hires our heroes to solve her own murder. Elliott Bay Book Company, 1521 10th Ave., 624-6600, elliottbaybook.com. Free. All ages. 7 p.m. PC

Be the You You Want to See in Yourself Former Intruder contributor and illustrator Brittany Kusa’s last art show featured a lot of glitter and hilarious rainbow drawings of boobs and poop. Her new show promises more genius collaging of the femme with the farty, the butt with the beauty, and lots of brightly colored excretions. The Factory, 1216 10th Ave., thefactoryseattle.com. Free. 21 and over. 6–11 p.m. KELTON SEARS

Tacocat Perhaps because its upbeat, surf-rocky jams provide a breath of fresh, warm air during the cloudy winter months, Tacocat is a cherished favorite of many local music lovers. Its newest album, the feminist, semi-sci-fi Lost Time, was released earlier this year. As part of the Out to Lunch free summer concert series, they will be performing at City Hall Plaza, 600 Fourth Ave., 684-2489. Free. All ages. 12:30 p.m. AC

Motor Presents: Diagonal Records From the other side of the Atlantic, London-based Diagonal Records is celebrating five years of glitchy, dancey, minimalist techno with a tour featuring the subversively harsh sonic assault of Russell Haswell, the experimental EBM of Not Waving, and the deep, abstract beats of the label’s co-founder, Powell. Cyborgs to the dance floor, please. [See preview, page 18.] With DJ Explorateur. Kremwerk, 1809 Minor Ave., motorcollective.com. $18. 21 and over. 9 p.m. MEAGAN ANGUS

Sculptured Dance The Seattle Art Museum is joining forces with a talented handful of local dance artists for an evening that combines the visual and the kinetic. Choreographers and dancers from Pacific Northwest Ballet, Spectrum Dance Theatre, Whim W’him, and the YC have made new works responding to the collection at the Olympic Sculpture Park—it’s art that moves. Olympic Sculpture Park, 2901 Western Ave., 654-3100, seattleartmuseum.org. Free. All ages. 6 p.m. SANDI KURTZ

August 12

Friday

Finding Time The problem with our economy, Heather Boushey argues, is that it’s based on a nuclear-family system in which one adult goes to work and another stays home and rears children, and our systems of work and leisure have never been realigned to fit the new paradigm. Find out how she wants to fix it. University Book Store, 4326 University Way N.E., 634-3400, www2.bookstore.washington.edu. Free. All ages. 7 p.m. PC

Jarv Dee On 4/20, Jarv Dee dropped what he refers to as his first truly solo project, Red Eye Jedi. The EP features Jarv without any guest appearances from fellow MCs. Live, he plans to hit the stage alone with only his mic and the faces in the audience. No DJ, no hype-man. Chop Suey, 1325 E. Madison St., 538-0556, chopsuey.com. $12. All ages. 8 p.m. M. ANTHONY DAVIS

South Lake Union Block Party SLU’s annual all-day, food-filled, musical booze bash pulls out all the stops this year with at least a dozen food trucks, a beer garden with lawn games, a giant poster-art competition dubbed “the Steamroller Smackdown,” a “best burger in SLU” grilling competition (contenders include “Piggie Smalls” and “99 Problems But a Peach Ain’t One”), and a totally impressive lineup of solid local bands including Beat Connection, Hibou, and the True Loves. Proceeds from food and drink sales benefit the Cascade Playground Activation Committee. Denny Way and Westlake Avenue North, slu blockparty.com. Free. All ages (beer garden 21 and over). 11 a.m.–11 p.m. SARA BERNARD

August 13

Saturday

Comics Dungeon Anniversary Week All week long, Wallingford’s Comics Dungeon marks its anniversary with a big sale—20 to 30 percent off graphic novels! Today, to help celebrate one of the best and longest-running shops in town, writer John Layman shows up to sign his delightfully weird, food-obsessed sci-fi series Chew. Comics Dungeon, 319 N.E. 45th St., 545-8373, comicsdungeon.org. Free. All ages. 1 p.m. PC

Teach-Out With Hilltop Urban Gardens Join the Community Alliance for Global Justice this Saturday to work for and learn about HUG, which promotes grassroots urban agriculture and anti-racism, built around the idea that marginalized communities should pursue food independence. CAGJ Office, 606 Maynard Ave. S., Ste 102. Free (RSVP required at fjp@cagj.org). All ages. 10–3 p.m. CASEY JAYWORK

August 14

Sunday

Sherman Alexie Reads to Kids Any Sherman Alexie event is worth your while. He’s quite simply the best reader in Seattle—funny, charismatic, brilliant. But he usually packs the biggest rooms in town; this is a rare chance to enjoy him in an intimate venue as he reads from his new children’s book, Thunder Boy Jr. Queen Anne Book Company, 1811 Queen Anne Ave. N., 284-2427, qabookco.com. Free. All ages. 3 p.m. PC

August 15

Monday

Ryosuke KiyasuFans of Faust, Acid Mothers Temple, Keiji Haino, and other avant-garde pioneers, you are in for a treat. Kiyasu’s solo snare drum performances are basically redefining the modern approach to percussion. This is a very rare opportunity to get an up-close look at this cutting-edge musician’s process. With Uneasy Chairs, Wilson Shook, and Driftwood Orchestra. Teatro de la Psychomachia, 1534 First Ave. S. Suggested donation $5–$15. 21 and over. 8 p.m. MA

Micro-Policing Focus Groups Come tell Seattle University eggheads what you want in your local police force—whether it’s faster 911 response, reducing drug enforcement, or improved accountability systems. Or maybe you don’t want cops in your neighborhood at all; come say that so that your dissent will register, instead of letting pro-police voices own the forum. Police will not be present at the focus groups. Ballard Public Library, 5614 22nd Ave. N.W.. Free. All ages. 6–7 p.m. CJ

Weaves The Toronto indie-rock quartet’s self-titled new album started as a collection of voice memos on lead singer Jasmyn Burke’s iPhone. Since that humble start, the band has developed into an international sensation and received coverage from the likes of Noisey and Spin. Barboza, 925 E. Pike St., 709-9442. $10. 21 and over. 7 p.m. AC

August 16

Tuesday

The Looseleaf Reading Series Four Seattle-area writers (Natasha Marin, Suzanne Bottelli, Max Oliver Delsohn, and Stephanie Barbé Hammer) and one visiting from California (novelist Yi Shun Lai) read new work at this ongoing literary series in Chop Suey’s den. Maybe pick up a new favorite writer or two in a nontraditional reading atmosphere. Chop Suey, 1325 E. Madison St., 324-8005, chopsuey.com. Free. 21 and over. 7 p.m. PC

Bad Luck Saxophonist Neil Welch and drummer Christopher Icasiano of Bad Luck are making one of the most exciting rackets in town with their bizarre, barbed jazz cacophonies, equally appealing to Coltrane and Lightning Bolt fans. Tonight’s show, with this city’s most promising up-and-coming rapper, DoNormaal, is a can’t-miss. With Grey Waves. Chop Suey, 1325 E. Madison St., 538-0556, chopsuey.com. $8. 21 and over. 9:30 p.m. KS

More in

Most Read